Vero Beach High School Band Receives Blue Ribbon Award

Vero Beach High School Band Receives Blue Ribbon Award
Posted on 10/17/2017

DATE: October 17, 2017

Cristen McMillan
Phone: 772-564-5527

Vero Beach, FL, October 17, 2017- The Vero Beach High School Band received the prestigious Blue Ribbon Award from the National Band Association (NBA). The National Band Association, founded on September 11, 1960, is the largest professional organization for bands in the world. It was organized to promote the musical and educational significance of bands and is dedicated to the attainment of a high level of excellence for bands and band music.

Band Director Page Howell, stated, “I am extremely proud of all that our students have accomplished. This award is based on several years of hard work and dedication. It would also not be possible without the hard work of our Associate Director of Bands, Brandon Putzke. Our Director of Bands Emeritus, Jim Sammons, helped make this possible by building this program so many years ago.”

The Blue Ribbon Award is given to quality band programs around the country who display exemplary performance areas in various ensembles. Band programs recognized with the Blue Ribbon Award display a tradition of excellence and top performance achievements in concert, jazz and marching bands, and small ensembles. Other requirements for this honor include evaluation of the number of students that continue playing their instrument after high school in college and community groups, along with judges’ sheets from Music Performance Assessments and multiple recordings from different ensembles.

Vero Beach High School Symphony Band

Vero Beach High School Symphony Band led by Director of Bands, Page Howell

vbhs blue ribbon2

Vero Beach High School Jazz Band led by Director of Bands, Page Howell

vbhs blue ribbon3

Vero Beach High School Percussion Ensemble led by Associate Director of Bands, Brandon Putzke

The Division Winners of the Programs of Excellence Blue Ribbon Award are below. All Division Winners will be given automatic consideration for the National Award.

Southern Division:

Douglas Anderson School of the Arts - Jacksonville, FL

Ted Shistle and Don Zentz, Directors

James Madison High School - Vienna, VA

Michael S. Hackbarth, Director

Vero Beach High School - Vero Beach, FL

Colbert P. Howell, Jr. and Brandon Putzke, Directors


Southwestern Division:

Broken Arrow High School - Broken Arrow, OK

Darrin Davis, Kelli Pence, Adam Wiencken, and Kyle Smith, Directors

Paragould High School - Paragould, AR

Richie Williams, Billy VanDelinder, and Aaron Stickley, Directors


Western Division:

Pearl City High School - Pearl City, HI

Chadwick Kamei, Christopher Otsuka, and Christopher Lopez, Directors

Timpview High School - Provo, UT

Jared Hearld, Director


Northwestern Division:

Mountain View High School - Vancouver, WA

Sam Ormson and Robbie Rutherford, Directors

Division Winners will be recognized at the NBA general membership meeting on Thursday, December 21, at the Midwest Clinic. National Winners will also be announced at that time